John Pocius #8

2022

College Commitment N/A
Height 6' 0"
Weight 160 lb
First Position Catcher
Second Position OF
Bat Right
Throw Right

Player Stats

Ball Exit: 88
Velo From INF: 72
Velo From OF: 77
Pitcher Top FB Velo: N/A
Pitcher Average FB Velo: N/A
60 Time: 7.60
40 Time: N/A
Shuttle: N/A
Spin Rate FB: N/A
Spin Rate CB: N/A
Pop Time: 2.34
Standing Broad Jump: N/A
Vertical Leap: N/A
10lb Medium Ball: N/A
Push-Ups In 1 Minute: N/A
Pull-Ups In 1 Minute: N/A

Blast Metrics: 1 Month Averages

Blast Bat Speed: N/A
Blast On Plane Efficiency: N/A
Blast Rotational Acceleration: N/A
Blast Attack Angle: N/A

Coaches

High School Head Coach: Craig Sucher
The Bandits Head Coach: Clark Cranston
The Bandits Team: 17U/18U Missouri - Blue

Education

High School: Clayton High School
High School Graduation Year: 2022
High School GPA: 3.11
High School SAT: N/A
High School ACT: N/A
College Choices: Birmingham-Southern College
Centre College
Cornell College
Elmhurst College
Emory and Henry College
Knox College
McKendree University
Rockhurst University
Spalding University
University of Wisconsin - Whitewater

Share John Pocius's Profile

Highlight Reel

Full Length Profile

Player Statement

My name is John Pocius, and I'm a Junior at Clayton High School, just outside of St. Louis, MO. I've been playing baseball since I was six years old. My love for the game has remained consistent, but my passion has only increased with my age & my baseball IQ. My primary position on the field is catcher, although I've played every position on the field for my high school team and previous baseball club. Catcher is my favorite position. Defensively, I love being part of every pitch call; I enjoy the strategy of pitch selection, and understanding my pitcher's strengths as compared to the opponent at the plate. The catcher/pitcher relationship is like no other on the field, and I shine when I have the trust of my teammate on the bump.
Offensively, I combine power with speed, and I like to take advantage of the full field. I work hard year-round to improve my power and mechanics. I've worked with the same hitting instructor for over four years. Between High School training sessions (when allowed due to COVID), private hitting instruction, club instruction, and on my own - I'm in the cages seven days a week. I'm committed to gaining muscle as well, working out five days a week.
Looking ahead to my Junior HS baseball season, the only guarantee I currently have with COVID is uncertainty. Regardless of what happens, I'll be ready to hit the field with my fellow Greyhounds. After the HS season, I'll continue through the summer with the St. Louis Bandits 17U Blue. This will be my first year with the Bandits. I moved from my prior club at a critical time in my baseball career because I recognized a need to grow personally. I needed consistent coaching and a higher level of competition in order to achieve my personal goal of playing at the college level.
Long term, I am looking to play at the D3 level. My academic and non-baseball personal goals align well with programs of this size. I'm interested in exploring careers in Occupational Therapy.

Press Text

N/A

Media Library